Planning Commission & Board of Adjustment

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • First Thursday of the month
  • Government Services Building
    Commissioners Room
    320 Third Street NW
    Faribault, MN 55021


  • Preston Bauer
  • Steve Underdahl
    Alternate Commissioner Representative
  • Jeff Docken
    Commissioner Representative

  • Aramis Wells
  • Charlie Peters
  • Jill Ellingson
  • Michael Streiff, III

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.


The Rice County Board of Commissioners appoints citizen representatives to serve on the Rice County Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment. The membership, terms and functions of both are set by Minnesota Statute Subdivision 394.27 and 394.30 respectively.


The Planning Commission has the authority to review and recommend County Board matters concerning Zoning, Re-Zoning, Conditional Use Permits, Preliminary and Final Plats, Ordinance changes/modifications, and Comprehensive Planning, including land use recommendations.

The Board of Adjustment has the exclusive authority to review variance requests of the Zoning Ordinance adopted by Rice County, hold public hearings, and make final decisions granting or denying the requested variances from the Zoning Ordinance.

Membership & Terms

The Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment consists of 5 members appointed by the County Board, representing an even distribution of geographic areas in the County. The term of each member shall be for 3 years. Each member may be eligible for reappointment, but not more than 3 consecutive 3 year terms. Meetings are held once a month or at the call of the Chairperson. Members are compensated in an amount set by the County Board.